It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Buying a Used 4x4
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 1:19 pm 
LOST Newbie

I already have an 04 Liberty Renegade 4x2 and I am thinking about buying a used Liberty 4x4. I am also new to the 4x4 world so I am not sure what to look for when buying a used one. I am not too concerned about "abused" 4x4 KJs here in the flatlands Florida since there really isn't a lot of trails they can be abused, especially in the Tampa area. But I am sure there some out there that may have been misused by newbies like me.

Any tips on what to look for and what to avoid? (How about a 2000 - 2002 4x4 XJ as an alternative?)

Why a 4x4 in Florida, you might ask? Reading all the fun you guys are having honestly is making me want to go out and do it. I don't mind driving far and away to find the trails. I though of buying a TJ but for our "lifestyle" it's a little too impractical. We need 4 doors among other things.

L.O.S.T. #000472
245/75/16 Dueler AT REVO

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 2:15 pm 
LOST Addict

are you replacing the 04, or adding to the family with another vehicle?

As much as I like the liberty, I can't see why I'd want to have more than one of any kind of car, Liberty included. If you already have a liberty, why not try an XJ?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 2:23 pm 
LOST Addict

Se7enLC wrote:

As much as I like the liberty, I can't see why I'd want to have more than one of any kind of car, Liberty included. If you already have a liberty, why not try an XJ?

Originally, we bought the Renegade 4x2 for our first "family car". I wasn't even looking to buy a Jeep, specifically. Then once we've had it for a while, we really love how it handled. Then we got bitten by the Jeep Thing ... and now we added a 4x4 to the family :D

My 3 year-old already corrected someone the other day --- "no, that's not a car, that's my daddy's Jeep" :-)r

Post subject: