It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 6:38 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: How-To Install New Power Steering Pump and Rack and Pinion
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:57 pm 
LOST Addict

I am not a professional and was learning the entire time I was doing this. Please do not refer to this as the ONLY way to replace these.

Tools:

Flat Head Screwdriver
T25 Torx Screwdriver/Ratchet Attachment
Ratchet
Ratchet Extensions
8mm, 10mm, 12mm, 13mm, 15mm, 3/4", and 24mm Sockets
10mm, 13mm, 15mm, 13/16", and 24mm Wrenches
5/8" and 18mm Line Wrenches
Small-Medium Pliers
Pulley Installer and Remover
Drip Pan
Rags
PATIENCE...

Parts:

Rack and Pinion
Power Steering Pump
At Least 2qts of ATF+4 Transmission Fluid (this is what power steering fluid uses)
5w-20 Motor Oil (I had to take off the oil filter and if you need to top off your oil after reinstall this is what it is for)

Steps:

1. Park with parking brake and run the seat belt through the steering wheel to keep wheel and shaft from spinning.

2. Open Hood

3. Remove Negative Battery Cable

4. Move Hood Release Cable out of the way to remove the Grille

5. Remove the Grille

Remove plastic fasteners and lift top over the hood bump stops, undo clips from atop headlight housing and use flat head screwdriver to the hidden clip off the side of the headlight housing, pull towards you and set aside.

Tricky Clip

6. Remove Headlight Housing

Using the T25 torx screwdriver remove the 3 screws mounting the housing, then unplug headlights/fog light via quarter-turn counter-clockwise.

7. Remove the Coolant/Wiper Fluid Tank

Using the T25 torx screwdriver remove the four screws mounting the tank, unscrew the radiator cap a quarter-turn and remove hose, unplug wiper pump connector via using the torx screwdriver to poke the hole and pulling up on the connector and remove hoses (90degree hose can be removed after tank is outside the engine bay, wiper fluid will slowly drain after removal of 90degree hose).

Top two screws