It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: CRD Timing belt local guys? - Huntley IL
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:04 pm 
LOST Newbie

Hey guys Im a newbie from Huntley. Is there anyone locally that wants to help me do the timing belt on my 05 crd? either we can do it together with a case of beer or I am willing to pay you to do it if its reasonable.

I would prefer the above but if no one is willing to help out and you locals maybe direct me to a shop that can help me out?

as soon as that is done I plan on doing the following mods so if you have something I might want pm me and lets talk

-Elephant hose mod thingy
-GDE Hot tune
-GDE trans tune
-lift pump
-transgo shift kit
-remote start
-fan switch ( only works on 3 & 4 now)
-Renegade fenders
-lift
-wheels and tires

-Vince

Post subject: Re: CRD Timing belt local guys? - Huntley IL
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:29 pm 
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Hi Vince,
Welcome to the board.

How many miles do you have?

I had mine done by GDE over in MI. Got a quote from Schaumburg Jeep that wasn't too bad either, but decided that Keith probably had more experience doing it. If your planning on getting the tunes anyway, might give him a call and arrange a date.

I'd be glad to help if you do decide to do it yourself. I watched Keith do my engine, but that doesn't make me an expert. I recommend you rent the tool kit from GDE. the right tools make the difference I think.

As for the rest of your list, let me know if you have any questions. I've done most of them to my CRD. I'm just down the road in Elgin.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:12 am 
LOST Newbie

I have 97K on the my jeep but I bet its more bc the odometer stops working with the abs light and brake light come on.

Ill have to think about the GDE doing everything that might get pricy.