It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 7:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Anyone else love their carrer but hate their employer?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:07 am 
LOST Member

Topic header says it all as to where I'm at right now.

I'm in construction, a carpenter by trade. I have been in this industry for 25 years mostly building commercial buildings. Bringing big or unique structures up out of the ground all the way to completion is, for me, rather rewarding. Usually I am in a leadership role by directing labor, ordering materials, coordinating with other trades, doing the layout, etc. and have been recognized as having done very well. Due to the economic collapse, naturally building slowed dramatically.

To compound that, ownership of this company is/ has been at odds with one another, leaving myself and others in the crossfire though no fault of our own. I had the impression this tenuous situation had been resolved or this would have been a deal breaker for my returning.

Moving from one contractor to another is the nature of this business, and I had to do so for 1 1/2 years. So, I get the call from one of the owners offering me the usual position on a sizable project to lure me away from a similar position elsewhere. I came back having very clear expectations of duties and advancing within the company.