It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Auxiliary lights and cops dont mix
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:24 pm 
LOST Junkie

Well I have my aux lights mounted on my cowl in front. I always drive with them on in NY and I pass a cop in town once every 5 seconds, never pulled over. Asked many a times what the law was about them and none knew so I took it that it was okay. Well driving home to CT the other day I am 5 minutes from home when I pass a CT cop, going 35-40 in 30. He waits then pulls out, "Awesome a speeding ticket as say to myself" but he dosent pull me over, then he decides he is. So I was pulled over for having my lights on, I nicely explained how I was never given a firm answer to my question regarding the law, so I couldnt be sure. Handed him my license , registration and OOPS WHERES MY INSURANCE CARD!? Well I didnt have it, just all old expired 2010 ones, so I again explained to him that I was an EMT and just graduated as a Criminal Justice student. He understood and checked all my stuff, so we talked and he said he has no reason to believe that the car wasnt insured so that as long I sent a copy of my insurance to him today he would not ticket/warrant my arrest. He said if I did not fax him a copy by the time he was on duty tonight, he would put a warrant out. Honestly he did not seem like that type of police but i obliged and bidded him a farewell. Nice officer.

So, anyone in CT dont drive with aux lights on!!! It is 100$ ticket.

-Rock Lizard Super Skink Sliders(custom)
-Engine skid, Skidrow Transmission skid
-4" Lift - JBA 4.5 Gen A-arms
Installed@165,920k
Pilot lights on cowl
Engine replacement at 175k

Post subject: Re: Auxiliary lights and cops dont mix
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:04 pm 
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

that stinks at least it wasnt too bad... you send him your info? haha