It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 6:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: installing skid plates on 06 4x4 sport.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:38 pm 
LOST Member

Hello,

I am new to the jeep world. I purchased a 06 liberty used and I am adding some of the stuff needed to go off road. So I have all four skids and I got the gas skid on. I am looking at the instructions for the last three, engine, transfer case and transmisstion skids.

I am trying to see if there is a particular order to put the plats on. On the transmisstion skid plate instrutions, it shows it going door to door (under the kj that is). But later it shows it going frount to back with some over lay with the eingin skid.

has anyone install these that can shed some light on the subjec, these are the morpar skids. I am a bit confused on how they go in. I did a search but could not find anything. Any help would apreciated it :shock: .

Rear Class III Hitch and ever Changing.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:21 pm 
LOST Junkie

I have Rusty's skids so I can only help minimally. The Transfer Case skid and Transmission skid should both use the bolts on the center crossmember (4 each, 2-15mm, 2-18mm, OEM crossmember hardware)...at least that's how it is with my Rusty's skids, but I can't imagine it's that much of a different design. The Tranmission skid also bolts to the front crossmember, where the back of the engine skid bolts. Put the transmission skid on first, then the engine skid over it on the front crossmember. Reason: obstacles could catch the lip that would be made by installing them in the opposite order.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 10:33 pm 
LOST Newbie

I just finsihed installing 3 of the skid plates a half hour ago. The front and trasfer case were pretty easy. The gas tank skid is ackward with the trailer hitch, but it to is done. The tricky part was figuring how to unplug the trailer light plug.