It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Suggestions to start offroading?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:07 pm 
LOST Newbie

Hi all, I'm new at this, and have a few questions. I'd like to get into offroading. Just start off nice and easy to see if I like it and want to do more. Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions for places to get a feel of it. Nothing heavy duty and it would be just me, maybe a friend or two, and our dogs. Ideally maybe combine a camping trip with some offroad and exploring. Any ideas?

Secondly, my Libby is stock, no mods. What limitations will I have? I just want to start first with nice and easy stuff and nothing extreme but if I like it, I'm wondering what I might want to look at modifying first. And any recommendations on where I'd get work done. My mechanic seems pretty up on things but any suggestions?

I live in Guelph but would drive a few hours to someplace good. Preferably with water and not a lot of people around, and off the beaten path. :)

Post subject: Re: Suggestions to start offroading?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:57 pm 
LOST Member

Hi Jenny,

Great to hear of another Liberty Driver in Southern Ontario. I live in Waterloo and belong to the Tri-city jeep club. they meet every Monday night at Jack Astors in kitchener on Fairway Rd. About 6-6:30pm. You may have a seen a few jeeps with the club decals driving around Guelph.

If you want to learn about wheeling and what your stock liberty can do, it's a great place to go. They hold a Jeep 101 clinic every Spring, and this Saturday is the second annual family fun day in Cambridge.