It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Turbo diesel inlet manifold cleaning
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:35 pm 
LOST Newbie

Hi, I'm new to site and finding it a wealth of knowledge, I have a question if anyone could help. I'm a proud owner of a 2005 KJ 2.8 diesel, I'm beginning to do mods and my first port of call is provent 200 for crank case ventilation then erg delete. I have been doing some research on ways to clean intake manifold without removal as this is a major job. I have found a service called BG Diesel Induction service and was wondering if anyone has had this done. It basically is a controlled chemical clean. I would be grateful for any input.
Thankyou beforehand

Post subject: Re: Turbo diesel inlet manifold cleaning
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:00 pm 
LOST Member

Location: Virginia, west of D.C. / In the middle of moving to Roanoke
Welcome.
:D

Go check out the Sasquatch threads in the CRD forum down below.
There is a particular thread about installing the EGR delete package, with pix of the crud build up in the induction system near the mixing tube and valve assembly.

That area and down stream at the entrance into the intake manifold (flow control valve elbow) is clogged with oil/soot, and serious crud.

You don't want BG to dissolve that into chunks that break free and either obstruct your valves or wedge them open.

Better you at least try to chip that stuff out and vacuum out what you can rather than let it chunk up.

When I installed mine - I was able to reach in and rake it out where I could actually feel when I got to the edge of the mung.
From what I've read here and other diesel forums - after you get rid of the EGR, the carbon isn't there to gum up with the oil, and the oil just flows on thru.
The Provent will help there, so the oil that doesn't get trapped in the intercooler, and CAC hoses.

OTOH, there are those that make a case for the oil adding lube properties to the fuel.