It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:19 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Rock Krawler Lift Kit?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:42 pm 
LOST Newbie

So I am new to the MODS side of my jeep experience, and I don't know a whole lot about cars in general, but I am learning. I have been reading a lot about the lift kits that are available, but I have seen a new kit by Rock Krawler that incorporates new struts for the front and spacers for the rear. Does anyone have an opinion on this kit, and would you still recommend replacing springs and shocks? I assume so since you will have it all apart anyways. I have about 105K miles on mine and know for a fact that suspension hasn't been touch in around 50K. Or maybe this is just like the other kits out there and I should just spend the extra few hundred dollars and replace the entire suspension. This is my daily driver and I don't go off road too often. I am trying to put some tires (31x10.5x15) on that were given to me. I have already purchased the rims that I need and now this is the only other step that I have. Please give me your suggestions on whether I should try this kit, and if so do I replace the coils and shocks, or just spend $600-700 and get a more extensive kit?

Post subject: Re: Rock Krawler Lift Kit?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:22 pm 
LOST Newbie

I am also thinking about the Rockfather Kit, any opinions?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:55 pm 
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

i would go with a full coil replacement, no spacers, since it's your DD, check out bds, JBA or OME

the rear is very easy, and can be done with common hand tools a jack and jackstands in a matter of an hour or three by someone with little experience , the front, is a bit more difficult but you could save at least part of the labor by doing the rear yourself

the front is do-able but will take a shade tree or less a bit more time and care but it can be done, dont be scared of it