It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:28 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:31 pm 
Offline
LOST Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:18 pm
Posts: 12
Hi folks, been watching/reading for about a year and here's my first post, so if I'm behind the 8-ball be gentle:

Does anyone make an OBD II code scanner that will work on the Jeep Liberty CRD? I have a reasonably good scanner
that I use on my other cars, and I have VCDS that I use on my VW TDI's but neither will work on the Jeep. I have
read the Lost Jeeps forums and took a chance on an OBD Wiz cable/software and it does
not work at all--can't read nor reset CEL codes. Junk. Anyone have something that works that is reasonably priced?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:22 pm 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:38 pm
Posts: 13008
Location: Colorado Springs
All 3 of my scanners work on CRD's.

-Snap On Solus Ultra
-Snap On Modis Ultra
-Autel Maxisys MS906 BT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:35 pm 
Offline
LOST Addict

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:43 am
Posts: 3919
Location: Green Cove Springs FL
IMO, the most cost effective scan tool requires a Android phone/tablet, ELM327 OBD Bluetooth adapter, and the TorquePro app.
It will give you all the engine codes plus live sensor data.

But it won't give you transmission or ABS codes.
For that you might need the Chrysler StarScan tool.

_________________
Bought my '05 CRD on June 2nd '07, used with 29,000 miles.
intake elbow and EGR delete. 7 volt Etecno glow plugs
Yeti stage 2 ECU tune. Straight pipe exhaust. DIY intercooler hoses
Provent and modified factory 180F thermostat
Replaced cylinder head (cracked) at 160,000 miles + ARP studs
Cheap 1 inch lift, 245-75R-16 tires.
Still love it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:57 pm 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:38 pm
Posts: 13008
Location: Colorado Springs
flash7210 wrote:
But it won't give you transmission or ABS codes.
For that you might need the Chrysler StarScan tool.

With my 3 scanners I can get into any system on KJ's to include CRD's.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:34 pm 
Offline
LOST Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:46 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Pinedale, Wyoming
I have a launch Xpro3 and so far I've been able to do anything I need on my KJ CRD. Even coding injectors. Little pricey but well worth it to me. It does almost any make!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:55 pm 
Offline
LOST Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:36 pm
Posts: 3231
Location: Central GA
tjkj2002 wrote:
All 3 of my scanners work on CRD's.
-Snap On Solus Ultra
-Snap On Modis Ultra
-Autel Maxisys MS906 BT

Dez wrote:
I have a launch Xpro3 and so far I've been able to do anything I need on my KJ CRD. Even coding injectors. Little pricey but well worth it to me. It does almost any make!!


All very nice scanners for sure, but a bit pricey $$$$ for the average home weekend mechanic!
Would love to own any one of them!!! :roll:

_________________
05 Jeep Liberty CRD Limited :JEEPIN:
Blk Brush Guard/Hella's/LED's
Ironman Springs/Bilstein's
Yeti Stg4 MaxTune
Weeks ElbowKit/Battery Tray
NO FCV/EGR
Samcos/ProVent
SunCoast/Transgo
Carter Intank-pump
2mic.Sec.Fuel Filter
Flowmaster/NOcat
V6 Airbox
GM11 blade fan/Hayden HD clutch
Ironrock Trilink
98 Dodge Cummins, 5"exh. Viair,K&N


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:41 pm 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:38 pm
Posts: 13008
Location: Colorado Springs
WWDiesel wrote:
tjkj2002 wrote:
All 3 of my scanners work on CRD's.
-Snap On Solus Ultra
-Snap On Modis Ultra
-Autel Maxisys MS906 BT

Dez wrote:
I have a launch Xpro3 and so far I've been able to do anything I need on my KJ CRD. Even coding injectors. Little pricey but well worth it to me. It does almost any make!!


All very nice scanners for sure, but a bit pricey $$$$ for the average home weekend mechanic!
Would love to own any one of them!!! :roll:

The Autel Maxisys MS906 BT can be had for $1300 on Amazon,the 808TS version is a little more basic but has TPMS function for even less.

They have come along way in a few short years.I carry the 906BT in my Jeep.The only issue I have with it is the thing is very slow compared to my Snap On scanners which can boot up,scan the VIN,and do a full code scan(check every system) before the Autel even boots up but at 4-10 times the cost.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:02 pm 
Offline
LOST Addict

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 3:14 pm
Posts: 2236
Location: Cleveland, OH
tjkj2002 wrote:
WWDiesel wrote:
tjkj2002 wrote:
All 3 of my scanners work on CRD's.
-Snap On Solus Ultra
-Snap On Modis Ultra
-Autel Maxisys MS906 BT

Dez wrote:
I have a launch Xpro3 and so far I've been able to do anything I need on my KJ CRD. Even coding injectors. Little pricey but well worth it to me. It does almost any make!!


All very nice scanners for sure, but a bit pricey $$$$ for the average home weekend mechanic!
Would love to own any one of them!!! :roll:

The Autel Maxisys MS906 BT can be had for $1300 on Amazon,the 808TS version is a little more basic but has TPMS function for even less.

They have come along way in a few short years.I carry the 906BT in my Jeep.The only issue I have with it is the thing is very slow compared to my Snap On scanners which can boot up,scan the VIN,and do a full code scan(check every system) before the Autel even boots up but at 4-10 times the cost.
Tj, that's a bit less than a third the average crd costs. I'm sure it's worth the $$$ for you, but for a person with couple vehicles and not lots of cash, it's a very big expense.

_________________
2005 kj CRD, samco, suncoast tc, provent, Kennedy lift pump, GDE ECO full torque, 2nd gen filter head, 245/70/16 a/t tires, mopar light bar, fumoto oil valve, OEM Skid Plates, ARB Front bumper and HD OME, tru cool LPD47391 40k GVW tranny cooler (stock cooler delete), FF Dynamics e-fan and shroud, rocker arms replaced, HDS2 190F thermostat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:37 pm 
Offline
LOST Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:12 pm
Posts: 1291
Location: N. Muddle Oregon Coast
tjkj2002 wrote:
flash7210 wrote:
But it won't give you transmission or ABS codes.
For that you might need the Chrysler StarScan tool.

With my 3 scanners I can get into any system on KJ's to include CRD's.

My brother's Snapon (probably same as yours) scans every system, can read and reset any code.
It can even set the TCM to Quicklearn, measure steering angle sensor and reset the steering position sensor on those vehicles applicable.
What It cannot do (what I need) is set the ECM on the CRD to "Learn Speed Control."
It is in the build sheet, so it came with the vehicle.
Everything is there, connected, and passes every diagnostic test, but every button pressed remains invisible to the ECM, and the Cruise won't turn on.
edit, yes the switches are new, and were replaced with the correct Mopar brand switches.

_________________
'06 Lbrty Sprt CRD 147Kmi

Sasquatch
DSS Turbo
CAT-elimntr
Weeks Stg1&2 EGRfix
PV-200
BLING
vent gauges

IDParts New
head
cams
rockers
Timing set
ARP studs
eTn1 GX2123 5v GPs

Flowmster 942550
Carter P76611M
GM 12611872
Hayden 2986
GM 15017911
2010 RamTrans
Sonnax 44957
Transgo kit
custom billet TC
Cooper 51770

Future plans: GDE Trans&Hot-tune


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:22 pm 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:38 pm
Posts: 13008
Location: Colorado Springs
GordnadoCRD wrote:
tjkj2002 wrote:
flash7210 wrote:
But it won't give you transmission or ABS codes.
For that you might need the Chrysler StarScan tool.

With my 3 scanners I can get into any system on KJ's to include CRD's.

My brother's Snapon (probably same as yours) scans every system, can read and reset any code.
It can even set the TCM to Quicklearn, measure steering angle sensor and reset the steering position sensor on those vehicles applicable.
What It cannot do (what I need) is set the ECM on the CRD to "Learn Speed Control."
It is in the build sheet, so it came with the vehicle.
Everything is there, connected, and passes every diagnostic test, but every button pressed remains invisible to the ECM, and the Cruise won't turn on.
edit, yes the switches are new, and were replaced with the correct Mopar brand switches.

Don't rely on what your build sheet states for what actually came on your CRD.I worked at a dealership and can tell you that nothing is 100% correct,even some VIN's are incorrect.Even seen a half Tahoe/half Yukon come in right of the transport truck.

To activate it you will need the starscan or the correct aftermarket programmer/scanner combo and pay a pretty hefty price on Chrysler's website for the program to upload in the computer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline
LOST Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:18 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks for all the replies, guys! I will look into all of the options mentioned. I have 6 cars, four of them diesels, so it may be time to invest in a
good quality scanner, I just wanted to know what would work and what would not because I have read previous threads on this forum where a lot
of owners express frustration at not being able to use their scanners on the Liberty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:43 pm 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:15 am
Posts: 5269
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
GordnadoCRD - if your issue is cruise is physically installed but won't turn on then I suspect you need to go to a local DCJ dealer and have them turn it on. Likely cost ca. $150 or you can combine that $150 with a bit more and get a GDE tune and have GDE turn on cruise while they have your ECU.

_________________
Sold to LOST member my 05 Ltd, GDE Stg II turbo + TCM tune, SunCoast TC w. Transgo kit, Steiger window regulators, Samcos, Fumoto valve, 2nd gen filter head with Lub. Spec. bleeder, Hayden clutch & 11 blade fan, inverted spare, P-1 battery, BF Goodrich Long Trail TAs, Etecno1 glow plugs, timing belt at 50K miles/8 yrs


Last edited by papaindigo on Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:26 pm 
Offline
LOST Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:12 pm
Posts: 1291
Location: N. Muddle Oregon Coast
papaindigo wrote:
GordnadoCRD - if your issue is cruise in physically installed but won't turn on then I suspect you need to go to a local DCJ dealer and have them turn it on. Likely cost ca. $150 or you can combine that $150 with a bit more and get a GDE tune and have GDE turn on cruise while they have your ECU.

Thanks for the reminder. (GDE) I forgot about that option.

_________________
'06 Lbrty Sprt CRD 147Kmi

Sasquatch
DSS Turbo
CAT-elimntr
Weeks Stg1&2 EGRfix
PV-200
BLING
vent gauges

IDParts New
head
cams
rockers
Timing set
ARP studs
eTn1 GX2123 5v GPs

Flowmster 942550
Carter P76611M
GM 12611872
Hayden 2986
GM 15017911
2010 RamTrans
Sonnax 44957
Transgo kit
custom billet TC
Cooper 51770

Future plans: GDE Trans&Hot-tune


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:48 pm 
Offline
LOST Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:18 pm
Posts: 12
I ended up purchasing an Autel Maxidiag 808 from Amazon for $210 on sale. It seemed like a good compromise between what I have (a cheapie) and what I want (a $1200 Autel Maxisys). I will post results of how well it works on the KJ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:48 pm 
Offline
LOST Member

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:05 pm
Posts: 201
five7driver wrote:
I ended up purchasing an Autel Maxidiag 808 from Amazon for $210 on sale. It seemed like a good compromise between what I have (a cheapie) and what I want (a $1200 Autel Maxisys). I will post results of how well it works on the KJ...


Can this get into the BCM to change tire size?

_________________
JBA 4" lift, JBA bolt on 4-link, JBA sliders, 32 x 11.5 x 15 Goodyear MTR w/Kevlar, Weeks stage 1 and 2, Weeks lift pump and harness, Weeks battery tray and AGM battery, GDE tune, Suncoast TC, updated front pump, HDS 001 T-stat, ARP studs, Front and rear Detroit/Eaton Truetrac LSD.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:03 am 
Offline
LOST Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:18 pm
Posts: 12
I'll let you know....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:36 pm 
Offline
LOST Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:18 pm
Posts: 12
So far, so good. I was able to read all codes and reset some CEL codes. What I can't figure out is that though it says no codes are present and it even says that the CEL light is OFF, the CEL light is, in fact, ON!

No codes present, but the engine light still on. Anyone else have this problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:40 pm 
Offline
LOST Member

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 8:07 pm
Posts: 299
Location: Southeast Michigan
That's odd. Maybe try scanning the other modules and see if one of them has a code set that might be keeping the Check Engine light on? (TCM/BCM/FCM?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:48 am 
Offline
LOST Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:18 pm
Posts: 12
I did the full scan but did not scan systems individually. Some posts over on the Jeep Forum suggest that some scanners do not pick up all codes even if they say "no codes present" and state the status of the check engine light as "off". Most owners (the exception being those with $1000+ scanners) end up taking it to the stealership to get he "hidden" codes erased! :(

I'll attempt to scan further to resolve this if I can, otherwise I may have a new and expensive paperweight in my new scanner...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OBD II code scanner?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:03 pm 
Offline
LOST Addict

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:43 am
Posts: 3919
Location: Green Cove Springs FL
Even with my relatively inexpensive android-torquepro-elm327 code scanner, I can clear all the codes (except SRS and ABS) and the check engine light will go out for at least one drive cycle. Then my perpetual p0102 code comes back with a CEL.
But the CEL will at least go out temporarily.

So maybe your Autel isn't actually scanning all the modules like it says it is.
Maybe try purposely setting some codes by disconnecting a ABS sensor or a transmission sensor to see if the device picks up these faults.

_________________
Bought my '05 CRD on June 2nd '07, used with 29,000 miles.
intake elbow and EGR delete. 7 volt Etecno glow plugs
Yeti stage 2 ECU tune. Straight pipe exhaust. DIY intercooler hoses
Provent and modified factory 180F thermostat
Replaced cylinder head (cracked) at 160,000 miles + ARP studs
Cheap 1 inch lift, 245-75R-16 tires.
Still love it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nicktb, Yahoo [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group. Color scheme by ColorizeIt!
Logo by pixeldecals.com