It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:51 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:59 am 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:04 am
Posts: 871
Location: Tiverton, RI
Hi everyone. I am new to the forum after purchasing a "new to me" Liberty CRD. I am looking to purchase a pyrometer, boost, and/or tranny temp gauges, but am not having luck finding a gauge pod. I am curious what others have done, and if they have any pictures to go along with it.

_________________
2006 Sport, GDE FT Eco Tune, Custom Trans Tune
2015 Ram 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel, GDE Hot Tune


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:41 am 
Offline
LOST Addict

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:24 am
Posts: 1520
Location: Australia
I used Pro-Sport gauges (EGT, Trans Temp, and Boost) and mounted them on top of the instrument nacelle using the industrial strength adhesive they supply for the metal foot (which can be shaped to follow the bend of the nacelle). That was a couple of years ago and they are still rock solid and have survived some terrible corrugated outback tracks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:59 am 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 3550
Location: Aurora, IL
Here is where I mounted my Glowshift EGT, Boost, and Trans Temp. My Oil Pressure gauge is on the left pillar. Since I am no longer young and nimble, I wanted to keep the handle on the left pillar to help getting out if I get a cramp or other injury, so I did not put the full array on the left pillar.

Image

_________________
2006 Pearl Green CRD
Magnaflow 2 1/2" Cat Back
KJ Extra Leg Room Brackets, Carter Lift Pump, V6 Airbox, ORM
Fuel cooler, Oil Separator, Progard 7
Gauges EGT Boost Trans Temp Oil Pres, Michelin LXT AT2 245 70 R16
7,000# Draw Tight hitch, PML EX Deep Trans Pan
Centrifuge, SunCoast, Transgo, RAM TCM, InMotion Stage 2
Wife's 99 TDI VW Beetle


Last edited by warp2diesel on Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:03 am 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:04 am
Posts: 871
Location: Tiverton, RI
warp2diesel wrote:
Here is where I mounted my Glowshift EGT, Boost, and Trans Temp. My Oil Pressure gauge is on the left pillar.

Image

Thanks for the feedback. Did you custom fabricate the wood?

_________________
2006 Sport, GDE FT Eco Tune, Custom Trans Tune
2015 Ram 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel, GDE Hot Tune


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:10 am 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 3550
Location: Aurora, IL
ChooChooman74 wrote:
warp2diesel wrote:
Here is where I mounted my Glowshift EGT, Boost, and Trans Temp. My Oil Pressure gauge is on the left pillar.

Image

Thanks for the feedback. Did you custom fabricate the wood?


Yup, I made a cardboard template and cut the wood to match up.
Another member from OZ made his out of fiberglass.
Here is the link to the rest of the photos of my fabricating the mount:
http://s362.photobucket.com/albums/oo69 ... or/Gauges/

_________________
2006 Pearl Green CRD
Magnaflow 2 1/2" Cat Back
KJ Extra Leg Room Brackets, Carter Lift Pump, V6 Airbox, ORM
Fuel cooler, Oil Separator, Progard 7
Gauges EGT Boost Trans Temp Oil Pres, Michelin LXT AT2 245 70 R16
7,000# Draw Tight hitch, PML EX Deep Trans Pan
Centrifuge, SunCoast, Transgo, RAM TCM, InMotion Stage 2
Wife's 99 TDI VW Beetle


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline
LOST Junkie

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:26 am
Posts: 844
Location: Hoedspruit , South Africa
Some KJ owners have mounted their gauges in the left A frame pillar....you can buy the correct insert with the pod holes in it. I do not have the links at the moment, I am sure someone will appear here soon with the link and pictures. :)

_________________
2002 Export CRD 2.5 Sport


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:45 am 
Offline
LOST Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:53 am
Posts: 74
Location: Salt Springs, Florida
An Android, Torque software, ELM 327 OBDII Bluetooth wireless link, and cell phone mount, you can display most any real time data, and can make it gauges or whatever. Here is a demo, there are numerous gauges styles and readings. Best $40.00 I have spent on my CRD so far. :JEEPIN: Here is a good place to find the ELM. http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... Categories

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbJMHZv7 ... re=related

_________________
JEEP the toughest Four Letter Word In Off-Road


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:11 pm 
Offline
LOST Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:56 pm
Posts: 66
Image

_________________
06 cummins 3500 many mods 600+hp


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 12:40 am 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:04 am
Posts: 871
Location: Tiverton, RI
ibHenry wrote:
An Android, Torque software, ELM 327 OBDII Bluetooth wireless link, and cell phone mount, you can display most any real time data, and can make it gauges or whatever. Here is a demo, there are numerous gauges styles and readings. Best $40.00 I have spent on my CRD so far. :JEEPIN: Here is a good place to find the ELM. http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... Categories

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbJMHZv7 ... re=related

I tried that today and all I got was RPM and throttle position. I could not get anything else from the OBDII.

_________________
2006 Sport, GDE FT Eco Tune, Custom Trans Tune
2015 Ram 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel, GDE Hot Tune


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:07 am 
Offline
LOST Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:53 am
Posts: 74
Location: Salt Springs, Florida
ChooChooman74 wrote:
ibHenry wrote:
An Android, Torque software, ELM 327 OBDII Bluetooth wireless link, and cell phone mount, you can display most any real time data, and can make it gauges or whatever. Here is a demo, there are numerous gauges styles and readings. Best $40.00 I have spent on my CRD so far. :JEEPIN: Here is a good place to find the ELM. http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... Categories

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbJMHZv7 ... re=related

I tried that today and all I got was RPM and throttle position. I could not get anything else from the OBDII.

I am sorry to hear that, my son set mine up, let me ask him how he did it.

_________________
JEEP the toughest Four Letter Word In Off-Road


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Where does everyone mount their guages?
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 9:26 pm 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:04 am
Posts: 871
Location: Tiverton, RI
What is the difference between an 05 and 06? I found 2 gauge pods but only for 02-05.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

_________________
2006 Sport, GDE FT Eco Tune, Custom Trans Tune
2015 Ram 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel, GDE Hot Tune


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dyneq, papaindigo and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group. Color scheme by ColorizeIt!
Logo by pixeldecals.com