It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: What are symptoms of worn rocker arms?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:48 pm 
LOST Member

Sounds like there have been more than a few cases of worn rocker arms lately. What symptoms would the engine exhibit if the rockers were getting worn?

Post subject: Re: What are symptoms of worn rocker arms?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 5:35 pm 
LOST Junkie

0W-40 usage is usually culprit.

If you search this forum you can find how to read the idle mass air flow and see if it is around the ideal values posted by GDE. Worn rockers mean less airflow.

Shot rockers/lifters are now suspected to be cause of "skipped" timing belt problems.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:48 pm 
LOST Member

That's why as a parts salesman I always recommend staying with manufacturer recommendations 5w40 full synthetic is what should be in there.

Front sits 23
Rear sits 22 3/4
265 75 16 Maxxis Big Horn MT
GDE Hot Tune
Bumper trimming up front

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:22 am 
LOST Member

LS12FAST4U wrote:
That's why as a parts salesman I always recommend staying with manufacturer recommendations 5w40 full synthetic is what should be in there.

Are you serious ? the mfg are the ones who were propagating 0w40 and causing all these troubles.....

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:10 am 
LOST Addict

I think he means VM, who made the engine, not Chrysler Jeep who wanted tio improve fleet fuel economy through promoting thinner oil use.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:54 am 
LOST Addict

I believe that soot in the oil will prove to be the main culprit. We have been running for 80 of the 110K miles on our rig with EGR disabled and mostly 0W-40 oil (5-40 in summer).

The MAF idle numbers look good (19.5). So, we will have to see.

DOC