It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: CRD won't start HELP!!!
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:48 am 
LOST Newbie

Cranks but will not start. Bought the jeep in a non running condition. Replaced timing belt/components as well as ALL 16 rocker arms due to damage. I had the intake off, obviously and the fuel system was opened. I CAN get it to start on starting fluid but dies out. I have primed the fuel fliter and purged the air from it. DOUBLE CHECKED WIRE CONNECTIONS FOR SECURITY AND CORRECT PLACEMENT. I HAVE CRANKED THE ENGINE SO MUCH I KILLED THE STARTER, which i will be replacing later today. DO I NEED TO PURGE THE FUEL RAIL??? IF SO HOW IS THIS DONE?? This is my first diesel, I am a good mechanic but apparently I am no Diesel Savvy.

My wife is very upset that the Jeep is not running after all the money spent on parts. I hope some one can help soon.

Post subject: Re: CRD won't start HELP!!!
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:18 pm 
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Couple of initial thoughts:
1. yes the fuel rail needs to be purged and to build enough pressure for the engine to fire off. Generally just a few cranks will be sufficient although it may run rough at first as the air in the rail gets fully purged. You can help a tiny bit by cracking the line to #4 injector and briefly cranking until fuel leaks from that fitting.
2. it won't fire if all the injector fitting are not tight and if the injector electrical plugs are loose
3. it also won't fire is you have mixed up the 2 identical electrical plugs in the same area - one goes to #4 injector and the other to one of the fuel rail sensors. If you have, commonly happens, have lost the label on the wiring that goes to #4 injector the mix-up is easy to do.