It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:06 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 2005 crd liberty coolant in oil engine is not locked up
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 12:40 am 
LOST Newbie

Hello. New guy here. I've always wanted a diesel liberty and I may have found one just wanted to get some opinions. There is a diesel liberty for sale about an hour from me I'm going to look at tomorrow and probably load on my trailer. It's in really good shape inside and out supposedly and he said it probably needs a head gasket because there is coolant in the oil. He said the engine still will turn over but will not run. What are the chances it could just be a head gasket and is there anything else I should look at. 175k miles and I think I can load it on my trailer for $800. I own a couple diesels now but I have no experience with the liberty diesels. Thanks for any input.

Post subject: Re: 2005 crd liberty coolant in oil engine is not locked up
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:21 am 
LOST Addict

Location: Somewhere between Heaven and Hell... But it is really hot here on Earth...
A couple things... Where are you located?

At that mileage, this CRD is sadly a VERY strong candidate for having dropped a valve and trashed the head. That will easily rupture a water jacket and allow the two to rapidly mix... But that is the least of the problems. It usually also means that a piston has been munched and so has the bottom of the head. The clue is that it will turn over but not start. If it was just a head gasket, then it would start. If it was a few rockers, it wouldn't have water in the oil, and it would most likely start.

This diesel is NOTHING like a Cummins or Powerstroke or Sprinter. This is not really an engine to start to learn on, you could be looking at as much as an $5000 rebuild depending on what needs to be done.