It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 3:50 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Special procedure for checking oil level?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:29 pm 
LOST Newbie

I freely admit that I'm a newb at mechanical things, but I still feel a little silly asking this question...

For those who haven't read my other posts I bought a crd that hasn't run in over a year. When I pull the oil dipstick out, wipe it off, reinsert it, then pull it back out there is way too much oil on the dipstick. I tried to take a picture, but I'm not sure how much you can see... The level is up into the coiled part of the dipstick. Am doing something wrong?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Post subject: Re: Special procedure for checking oil level?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:44 pm 
LOST Newbie

driain it, you might have water in the pan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 3:00 pm 
LOST Addict

Are you sure the correct amount of oil is in there?

Maybe spray the dipstick or soak it completely with some solvent and let it drip dry.
Then try again.

Edit: my 05 and my wifes 06 dipsticks are coiled just like yours

Last edited by flash7210 on Mon Sep 04, 2017 3:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 3:06 pm 
LOST Member

Call me an idiot, but I've never seen a braided oil dipstick on a CRD before! Maybe this is the "revised" dipstick that I've heard about a few times?