It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:55 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Oil Analysis Results
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 1:51 pm 
LOST Newbie

Hi All,
I received the results of my first Blackstone oil analysis for my Khaki CRD. The level of Iron in the sample is obviously a reason for concern and I understand that there is not likely a way to identify the root cause without some disassembly. I don't have much history on the Jeep other than a few receipts that the PO gave me for recent timing belt, glow plug, cooling system, and A/C services. It was completely stock when I bought it from what I can tell other than the Samco hoses. The PO left a full bottle of M1 0w40 in the cargo area, so I can only assume that is what he was using. I have been running Rotella T6 5w40 since I have owned it.
I have been driving it for about 9 months now without any issues or unusual noises from the engine. I suspect that the rockers/lifters are original at almost 184K now. I did the Weeks Stage 1 and 2 EGR delete at 180K, so she has been running EGR all that time unless the PO had a GDE tune on it at some point. I bought the Jeep with a bad ECU, so I can't be sure. The Jeep is running the GDE Hot Tune now.
I am hoping that the source of the high Iron level is limited to the valve train. My plan would be to replace the head gasket and install ARP studs at the same time if I determine that the rockers need replacement.

Has anyone experienced high levels of Iron and determined that it was due to rocker/lifter/cam wear?
Am I correct in my assumption that the cam is also cast iron on this engine? Maybe worn lifters are also wearing into cam??

07 WK CRD - GDE Eco Tune
04 WJ 4.0 - RC 4" lift

Post subject: Re: Oil Analysis Results
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:01 pm 
LOST Addict

One oil analysis is hard to go from.
Need several to identify any trends.