It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:14 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New to Libertys, need help.
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2018 12:29 pm 
LOST Newbie

I’m kinda stumped here. Pretty mechanically inclined and it’s not my first diesel vehicle. Problem: at about 50-55 mph the Jeep will shudder hard. I’ve noticed every time it does it, it burns oil because a large blue cloud comes out for 5ish seconds. Another thing I’ve also noticed is the trans fluid smells burnt. Now the previous owner had told us the turbo had some blowby (the blue smoke) however I’m stumped as to what the trans fluid stinks for. I’ve been reading and it seems like some have complained of the torque converter going out and not locking up which could be the problem however I’m new to this platform of diesel and I want to get someone else’s input before tearing into it. Another problem I’ve found is almost like an exhaust leak at the manifold where the turbo connects and I’ve noticed a lot of oily residue there. It only smokes from there when it’s hot so I think it could also be that residue burning off.

Post subject: Re: New to Libertys, need help.
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2018 1:32 pm 
LOST Addict

The trans fluid smells burnt because it is burnt.
It may be that the fluid and filter had never been changed or you have some clutch packs that are worn out.
This is probably why you feel the shudder.
Search for a used 545rfe out of a Dodge Ram 5.7 Hemi. It will have a better torque converter.

Oil leaking from the turbo into the exhaust is a bad thing.
I recommend not driving it anymore until you can rule out a bad turbo.
Take the turbo inlet hose off and stick your fingers in there to try to wiggle the shaft. The should spin freely and smoothly and not have any wiggle.

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2018 3:28 pm 
LOST Newbie