It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: '06 CRD blowing smoke + vibration + rhythmic knocking
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 12:18 pm 
LOST Newbie

Hey everyone. This is my first post on this forum, and I've found the website to be very helpful in the past, and I'm still learning about vehicles in general so please forgive me if I'm a bit ignorant.

I'm the second owner of my 2006 Liberty CRD. Bought it at 40k miles a couple of years ago, put 35k on it since. I've done the basic maintenance myself (though I'm due for the maintenance required as per the manual at 70k or 75k).

The problem(s): The vehicle has suddenly changed its idling to a consistent RPM ever-so-slightly off from what it once was (before, the rpm rate varied every 5 or so seconds by about 100RPMs).

Accompanied by this change of idle is a noticeable and consistent vibration (most noticeale by holding the stearing wheel), a rhythmic knocking/ticking/awful sound which increases along with the RPMs (this was not present before), and I'm blowing smoke out of the exhaust (so bad that someone pointed it out to me on the road).

I promptly dropped the vehicle off at a shop since this is my only mode of transportation and I need it fixed ASAP. Uber is getting expensive very fast.

Is anyone familiar with these symptoms? I don't want to get robbed by this shop, so I'm hoping you all can help me identify the problem before the shop finds a way to rob me (though I have no reason to believe that the mechs are unqualified or dishonest).

Thank you for your help!

Post subject: Re: '06 CRD blowing smoke + vibration + rhythmic knocking
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 3:15 pm 
LOST Member

Do not start the vehicle anymore until you figure out what this is. It could be relatively minor or it could be a catastrophic failure of your motor if you keep running it. We need a LOT more information to diagnose this.