It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 11:52 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Which battery?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:03 am 
LOST Member

Which battery are youall using now? Mine is at least 5 years old and needs replacing.

NAPA says all they show for the diesel is an Optima, which is over $300 even with my discount. They show a group 8434 for the gasser, which is what is in it now and has been fine - until now. The born on date isn't marked on it but I've been using it for 54 months now. The 8434 is rated at 800 cca and 985 ca.

When we see below freezing temps it's never for very long and rarely single digits (don't look at next week's forecast though...). I know some of you have dual battery setups which I don't need for my mods/use/clim. What single battery are youall using and recommend? Anything better than the NAPA 8434 but cheaper than the Optima? (I've had Optimas and like them but why pay if I don't need?)

Thanks,

1998 XJ 4.0L, stock with 130,XXX miles

First Jeep: 1962 Willys CJ-3B

Post subject: Re: Which battery?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 1:30 pm 
LOST Junkie

I used the battery from my motorhome, which is a 3478 dual terminal. It fits absolutely perfectly. IIRC the 34 part is for the GM style terminal, and the 78 is for a conventional top post terminal, so a regular #78 would also work.

Buy the battery technology that makes sense for your application... there are reasons to buy fancy tech like Optima/SpiralCell (vibration resistance) or AGM (deep cycling, high discharge rates, non-venting) but for your average vehicle doing average things, the best bang for the buck is flooded lead acid.