It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 8:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: I sort-of like MY XJ
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:08 pm 
LOST Newbie

GRRRR :evil:
I am having such a hard time trying to put my rough country lift on my jeep. Actually it was trying to get the dang coils off and now its trying to compress the NEW coils to get them to fit. I need help because I've never done anything like this before and the guys in my jeep club are kinda leaving me in a rut. Does anyone have some hints, ideas, whatever to get the new coils on??? HELP before I torch the jeep and sell the lift and just ARGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

Tom

1987 XJ Pioneer 5-spd 2 door
3.5" Rough Country AAL Lift, 32's **FOR SALE**

www.freewebs.com/posoffroading

Last edited by MavrikXJ on Sat May 03, 2008 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:54 pm 
LOST Addict

I had some trouble putting the coils in the rear of my KJ, I think the reason why is because my floor jack sucks. It only lifts 13" max. So what I did is get a long peice of 2x4 (maybe something thicker, like 4x6) and put it on top of your floor jack and lift the body with it. (to make more space between the axle and the body)

245/75-16 Mastercraft Courser HSX, 16x7 Cragar, 2" OME MD Lift, ARB Bumper
AEM Brute Force Cold Air Intake, Flowmaster Super 44 Muffler

Currently working on: Full service on transmission & bed-lining ARB bumper

viewtopic.php?f=43&t=84650

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:14 pm 
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Jack it up as high as you can get it, Supported on stands, let the front suspension droop down w/ shocks removed, Insert a bottle jack between the frame and lower control arm and jack until the side you are working on droops enough to pop the coil in. Repeat on other side.