It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: '01 JEEP CHEROKEE SPORT XJ 2.5TD VM
PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 6:34 pm 
LOST Newbie

Hi guys! Im new to lostjeeps.com. I live in south africa and aqcuired my first jeep vehicle last year in July. She is an XJ. an absolute beauty, in near new condition inside and out. I was sceptical about that vm diesel engine though after having read alot about it. anyways, i decided to take a chance and buy this jeep. She ran like a dream until recently. There arent many sources of info here in SA for jeep vehices. I am hoping you guys on lostjeeps.com will be able to help me find out whats making my jeep misbehave!

Here are all the symptoms i am experiencing:

She has suddenly went into a limp home mode where she wont rev past 2000 whilst driving and the turbo wont kick in at all. this problem is very erratic though as sometimes she comes out of this mode and the turbo starts boosting as per normal. then she would randomly go back into limp home mode! what ive also noticed is that she now sounds a bit noisier and not as smooth as she used to be. ( can a clogged egr cause this noisiness?)
also, she has stalled a few times whilst driving.
i have also noticed that the exhaust air feels extremely hot. it was never this hot. she is also very very sluggish from idle up till 2000 revs. but thats been the case ever since i bought her, so i dont know if thats normal or not. fuel consumption is not very good as well.

ok, so i have replaced the air filter, diesel filter and checked all hoses for leaks. all seems fine. The turbo seems fine too (it cant be damaged as she still boosts powerfully when she comes out of limp mode, also put my fingers inside to check for play and seems fine). I cleaned out the intercooler as well. also checked all wiring, all seems fine.