It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 4:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 4 cylinder reputation?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:51 pm 
LOST Member

I'm thinking about looking for another Wrangler. I know the reputation of the 4.0, but I have no experience with Jeep's 4 cylinder. I just keep seeing so many for sale, and it will have to be my daily driver. So the idea of better gas mileage is appealing as well. What can you guys tell me about them?

I've owned a 98 XJ with the 4.0, an 87 YJ with the 4.2 and currently our 04 KJ with the 3.7. We're not going to be replacing the KJ, wife would kill me. I drive a 96 Ranger that rolled 200K and the tranny is threatening to give up the ghost. I'd love to have another Wrangler. :) Thanks for any info...

Post subject: Re: 4 cylinder reputation?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:21 pm 
LOST Addict

2.5L, sucks. Hard.
Reliable motor, just WAYYYYY under powered. Expect to be pedal to the metal just to maintain 70mph.
Theres a reason they named it the 2.5L Low Output and the 4.0 is High Output.

I also can not be held liable for any jeep breakage or life problems caused due to my advice being taken.
:D

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:29 pm 
LOST Member

in all actuality even the 4.0 is a little under powered, but the 2.5 is just a dog...

mml & 1.25in bl awaiting install (i'm lazzzzyyyy!!)
31x10.50x15 toyo open country a/t's

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 1:57 pm 
LOST Member

Thanks for reinforcing my gut feeling... I'll steer clear.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:50 pm 
LOST Newbie

The guys before are right depending on what you plan to use it for. Mine is just to play around in and I dont have to drive the highway if I dont want to, so putting around the back roads and hitting whatever mud hole I can find is more than perfect for my 2.5 and they are very reliable motors.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:35 pm 
LOST Member