It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Need a Little specific advice
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:51 pm 
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

So the bolt on SFA kit has me thinking... and that's not usually a good thing. I think I'm going to need a new steering rack soon (the whole bushing issue) and I need to regear and start adding some lockers, well why not do it all at once right?

I'll need to start off slow and easy and probably piece it together a bit at a time, the problem is I'm only a marginal mechanic at best and I can't weld so fabbing together my own project is out of the question. I also can't afford to drop 15k on an axle conversion so I'm not sure if the Rock Lizard kit will work for me.

Should I start looking for a Dana 30 to put in the front? Or should I just go for Dana 44's and replace both the front and the rear, keeping price in mind. Either way where should I be looking for them, meaning, what models of vehicles should I be looking at in the junk yard that'll be compatible. I know there'll be a ton more questions but this is a good start I suppose.

Goodyear Duratrac's 245/75/R16 on Cregar soft 8's, Full Skids

Post subject: Re: Need a Little specific advice
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:26 pm 
Only in a Jeep!
Only in a Jeep!

I think everything you are asking is located in the SFA section and it looks like you found that ok... :D
There are only 5 Pages in the SFA section.... I'd go through just about every post in here if I were going to do a SFA.... It will help you pick what is best for what you plan on achieving.

"I also can't afford to drop 15k on an axle conversion so I'm not sure if the Rock Lizard kit will work for me."

The Rock Lizard kit does not include axles so I'm not sure what you mean by this.

I think JJ is running a hp30 up front, look at some of the stuff he's crawled over..... then ask yourself if you NEED a hp44...... :wink:

good luck

MONTANA RULES!