It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 5:17 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Tire info
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 3:56 pm 
LOST Member

I know this has been covered before on the posting boards but I'm new to owning a Jeep and I'm a little confused with trying to follow all the back postings.

I would like to get a new set of All Terrain Tires, from what I have read this is what I have narrowed it down to:

Goodyear Fortera Silent Armor
BFG AT or AT/KO's (KO's said I need to modify to prevent rubbing, is this true?)
BFG Revo's (Dont know much about these)

I guess what I am looking for is a tire that is good for normal street driving but needs to be good in the snow (dry, rain, heavy snow). I take it offroad sometimes but nothing to aggressive yet. I probably will eventually but for now I'm looking for everyday driving.

I checked consumer reports but I would rather hear from people who use and abuse these tires everyday. I currently have the stock tires on and would like to change soon.

Thanks in advance.

Post subject: IMHO
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:50 pm 
LOST Newbie

The Silent Armors are fairly new. There are some of us testing these but no real feedback yet.

If you plan to off road often (once a month or so) I'd go with the BFG. Much tougher sidewall, excellent dry, wet, snow, gravel handling.

If you plan on doing some light offroading every now and then then go with the REVO. They are also excellent dry, wet, snow, gravel ... but they are quieter than the BFG.

In a nutshell I've been looking to upgrade my tire size, from what I've read you can go up to 245/70R/16 on a stock KJ with no issues.

The KO's and REVO's are equally good for handling and traction in almost all conditions. For me it basically came down to tougher looks and slighty better/tougher offroad capabilities (KOs) VS. still agressive look but a quieter/smoother ride for mostly on-road use (REVOs).