It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 11:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: some advice (hoosier/jeepster)
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:00 pm 
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

I am new to washing/detailing my own KJ...

What few (3 or 4) products would you say I need for the exterior?

Clay bar, wax, nxt and?????

For the tires.. I have heard that armor all is BAD for the tires?????

Thanks for any and all tips or advice....

Post subject: Re: some advice (hoosier/jeepster)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:12 pm 
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

what color is your jeep?... I own a black jeep so i use mothers clay bar... then i go with the black box. then some mothers back to black for the trim... for tires do not se armor all they have tire shine out there that is very good...

08 Revenge- Rock Lizard (Skink Sliders & Gecko Roof Rails), High Clearance Trimmed Front Bumper, Mopar skids, Riddler Diff Cover, JBA (5.5 Arms, 6" rear Springs, Front Adjust-A-Struts), 32" DuraTracs, Superior 4.56's, Front & Rear ARB Lockers, Fastman Throttle Body, AEM Intake, Hypertech Tune, Custom Ram Air, RunCool Louvers

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:11 pm 
LOST Member

TexasRock wrote:
I am new to washing/detailing my own KJ...

What few (3 or 4) products would you say I need for the exterior?

Clay bar, wax, nxt and?????

For the tires.. I have heard that armor all is BAD for the tires?????

Thanks for any and all tips or advice....

Two buckets, a sheepskin mitt, wash, clay and some wax.

NXT is one of the better OTC waxes available unless you have a CarQuest nearby. If you do, pick up some Duragloss #105.

Armor All is not bad for your tires. It is just more greasy and shiney than some of the other options. It isn't the same Armor All that cracked dashes in the 70's. However, No Touch makes a nice spray can that you can apply. After application, let it dry slightly and then quickly wipe the tire off with a rag. It will leave a very nice low shine that lasts.