It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: InMotion CRD Tuning
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:29 pm 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:51 am
Posts: 477
Location: Kellogg, IA
Curious how many here have done the Inmotion CRD Tune reprogram of the ECU.

Considering it and would appreciate any feedback from those of you who have done this and how it has been performing for you. Also how satisfied you were with the company.

_________________
*************************************
Environmentalist Green + Socialist Red = Facist Brown

2006 Liberty CRD, Frankenlift II, Al's A Arms, Moog LBJ's, GDE tune, Etechno GX3123 Glow plugs, Fumoto drain valve, Elephant hose CCV mod.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:09 am 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 746
Location: Nashville, TN
I had the Stage II tune done on mine. It makes a big difference. Worth the money in my opinion. I decided to go with the stage II over the Eco tune based on a conversation with them.

I shipped my ECU overnight, they flashed it and shipped it back on the same day. Great service!

Also, if the dealer happens to re-flash your ECU without your knowledge, you can ship your ECU back to InMotion and they will re-flash at no charge.

_________________
Chad Hargis
Nashville, TN
2008 Grand Cherokee CRD
2005 Liberty CRD *SOLD*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:31 pm 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:51 am
Posts: 477
Location: Kellogg, IA
Thanks for the info, Chad! I just this minute got a call from InMotion and they said what you did. I agree, that I think I will go with the Stage 2 reprogram.

Was a little leary of yanking out my ECU and shipping it off to someone I know nothing about and having them reprogram it. Kinda like a Forest Gump "you never know what you're going to get" moment.

I think I will determine the best time in the next week or two to get this done where I don't mind having the CRD sitting for a few days while waiting to get the ECU back. Even wife is game for getting this done! That doesn't happen that often!

_________________
*************************************
Environmentalist Green + Socialist Red = Facist Brown

2006 Liberty CRD, Frankenlift II, Al's A Arms, Moog LBJ's, GDE tune, Etechno GX3123 Glow plugs, Fumoto drain valve, Elephant hose CCV mod.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:40 pm 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 746
Location: Nashville, TN
You can feel the power increase, especially taking off from a stop.

I've only got one tank of fuel on the chip tune, and fuel mileage doesn't seem to be any worse, but there is clearly more power. A win/win!

_________________
Chad Hargis
Nashville, TN
2008 Grand Cherokee CRD
2005 Liberty CRD *SOLD*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:42 pm 
Offline
LOST Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 5:32 pm
Posts: 122
chadhargis wrote:
I decided to go with the stage II over the Eco tune based on a conversation with them.


Would you care to expand on that? I am interested in doing this and going with the Eco Tuning as I'm only interested in maximum MPG, don't car about performance beyond what I have stock. Thank you for your time!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:44 pm 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 746
Location: Nashville, TN
Basically I was told that most of their customers who get the Eco tune send their ECU back for the Stage II.

I didn't ask why, I just took his advice. It's the same money for them either way, so I'm guessing the Eco tune is a compromise in drivability to gain the fuel economy. Don't know for sure...just guessing. But I took their advice and I'm happy. I didn't want to have to send the ECU back.

I'm happy with the mileage the CRD gets now, and I was told that the stage II won't cause any loss of fuel economy if you keep your foot out of it.

_________________
Chad Hargis
Nashville, TN
2008 Grand Cherokee CRD
2005 Liberty CRD *SOLD*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: $$
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 2:19 pm 
Offline
LOST Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 5:39 pm
Posts: 392
Location: Allen, TX
chad -

may i ask how much it was?

_________________
05 CRD
3" Rough Country Lift
SAMCO SPORT Hoses
Magnaflow Muffler (12226)
CAT 2 Fuel Filter
Fumoto Drain Valve
EGR replaced at 50K
in service 8/31/04
Sold 7/21/10 125k miles
----------------------------------------------------------
Paved Roads, another form of unnecessary government spending...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 2:22 pm 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 746
Location: Nashville, TN
$300....much cheaper than the "modules" that are out there. Just a little bit of work to get the ECU out, but if you remove the battery, you'll have plenty of room.

_________________
Chad Hargis
Nashville, TN
2008 Grand Cherokee CRD
2005 Liberty CRD *SOLD*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:37 pm 
Offline
LOST Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:31 pm
Posts: 163
Location: buckeye AZ
i would prefer a module for the sake of ease of install and removal. mine still under warentee but not sure which model works and which doesnt

_________________
2008 Tacoma:
4.0-liter DOHC EFI V6 with VVT-i ... 236hp 266Ft-lbs
265-70R16 BFG Rugged Trail (stock).... Rear Locker (stock)
Bilstine 2.5" lift front + ProComp AAL 2" lift rear
LIFT #s Front engine skid 12" @Rear Diff 10.5" @running board 21" @tx case 16"
6spd Manual Tranny
http://o8k.ifp3.com <-- My Photo gallery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:50 am 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:51 am
Posts: 477
Location: Kellogg, IA
o8k wrote:
i would prefer a module for the sake of ease of install and removal. mine still under warentee but not sure which model works and which doesnt


What sold me was when InMotion gave me a call today to alieve any concerns I had regarding the reprogram of the ECU. The specs they are reprogramming into the ECU are the European manufacturing specs that Bosch and VM meant for the engine as it was built. They have the authorization from Bosch to do this. Only other changes are minor like removing speed limiter, etc. They are also authorized to do this same reprogram for just about every other European made gas and diesel engine in Volvo, VW, BMW, Mercedes, etc.

The discussion was to confirm that the reprogram is not detectible by the dealer in that the machine views the European specs as valid for the engine. Interesting that the original specs for the CRD engine reduce the EGR use by over 60% from the DC program. That alone is a major improvement over what we got from Toledo.

The assertion that the DC specs for the CRD are a castrated version from what VM and Bosch intended is well founded. I do not want a fire breather, I just want the engine to operate to its max potential as it was intended. That alone will cure many of the problems that a lot of owners have experienced. I am quite sure that VM built a solid engine that would perform as they intended. They have a solid reputation in Europe. Just some idiots at DC thought they knew more about the engine than the manufacturer. But what is new!

At least when they look under the hood, they will not be able to tell a difference. Oh.... InMotion confirmed that they would reprogram the ECU for FREE for the life of the vehicle if DC decides, through one of their recalls, to reprogram the ECU back to their perverted specs. That was a top seller for me too! It is nice to see a company back a service and continue to correct DC at every turn.

_________________
*************************************
Environmentalist Green + Socialist Red = Facist Brown

2006 Liberty CRD, Frankenlift II, Al's A Arms, Moog LBJ's, GDE tune, Etechno GX3123 Glow plugs, Fumoto drain valve, Elephant hose CCV mod.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:46 am 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 746
Location: Nashville, TN
You just echoed my exact reasons for going with the chip tune. A reprogram doesn't "fool" any sensors by using a plug in module. It works with the existing engine management. It makes the engine run like it should.

I did the same thing to my motorcycle. Actually, I bought a complete new ECU (they are cheaper for bikes) that is intended for race applications.

I've used plug in modules on motorcycles, and they have their place. But nothing can beat a good chip tune for drivability. Take a look at the plug in modules. They plug into a few sensors and modify the output they send to the ECU. But our engine has a bunch of sensors, and the chip tune works with all of them, not just two or three.

Of course, the InMotion tune is cheaper too. :)

_________________
Chad Hargis
Nashville, TN
2008 Grand Cherokee CRD
2005 Liberty CRD *SOLD*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:27 pm 
Offline
LOST Member

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 7:24 pm
Posts: 280
Location: AridZona
Can you both revisit this thread with some fuel milage results?

Thanks.

_________________
2006 CRD Sport


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:34 pm 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 746
Location: Nashville, TN
I haven't noticed any difference in fuel mileage. Seems to turn about the same. I only have one tank on the chip tune, so time will tell.

_________________
Chad Hargis
Nashville, TN
2008 Grand Cherokee CRD
2005 Liberty CRD *SOLD*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 10:17 am 
Offline
Lifetime Member
Lifetime Member

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:51 am
Posts: 477
Location: Kellogg, IA
Getting mine tuned next week and I will sure post any fuel mileage numbers as they come in. Just keep in mind that I am getting the stage 2 reprogram like Chad. The Eco Tune option Inmotion offers probably will do better on the MPG if that is your prime motivation. With fuel prices I wouldn't begrudge anyone for selecting it. Even the eco tune will give you a boost in horses and torque.

_________________
*************************************
Environmentalist Green + Socialist Red = Facist Brown

2006 Liberty CRD, Frankenlift II, Al's A Arms, Moog LBJ's, GDE tune, Etechno GX3123 Glow plugs, Fumoto drain valve, Elephant hose CCV mod.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Inmotion
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 10:56 am 
Offline
LOST Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:50 am
Posts: 178
Location: liberty, mo.
How do I get in touch with Inmotion to talk to them....


:D

_________________
Liberty, Mo
2006 Liberty Sport CRD
GDE FT ECO/HOT Tunes.
OME 2.5
265 75r 16
SC Bumper
Glass Pack
Cross Drilled and slotted rotors
Diehard Platinum 34 Battery 880 CCA
Provent
Dodge 2500 in tank Lift pump
Samco Hoses
In-hose thermostat
Nerf Bars
Ford FL400 Oil filter
Al's UCA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 4:38 pm 
Offline
LOST Junkie

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 7:52 am
Posts: 514
Location: Zionsville, IN
http://www.inmotionusa.com

503-608-7717

_________________
2005 Black CRD Limited w/105,000 miles
Mann Provent 200, Airbox Mod, ORM Mod
New 545RFE, TC & Redesigned pump @ 25,020 miles
New EGR Flow Control Valve @ 25,020 miles
New Transfer Case input/output seals @ 32,787 miles
SEGR Kit @ 52,000 miles
SunCoast TC and Transgo Shift Kit @ 52,000 miles


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:11 pm 
Offline
LOST Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 746
Location: Nashville, TN
I just filled up today.

Second tank on the InMotion chip tune. Fuel mileage is still the same as before, and I did quite a bit of stop and go driving and some towing on this tank. Still managed 20.1mpg. That included one full throttle run to 105mph. :)

_________________
Chad Hargis
Nashville, TN
2008 Grand Cherokee CRD
2005 Liberty CRD *SOLD*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 6:51 pm 
Offline
LOST Member

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:17 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Richfield WI
The discussion was to confirm that the reprogram is not detectible by the dealer in that the machine views the European specs as valid for the engine. Interesting that the original specs for the CRD engine reduce the EGR use by over 60% from the DC program. That alone is a major improvement over what we got from Toledo.

The assertion that the DC specs for the CRD are a castrated version from what VM and Bosch intended is well founded. I do not want a fire breather, I just want the engine to operate to its max potential as it was intended. That alone will cure many of the problems that a lot of owners have experienced. I am quite sure that VM built a solid engine that would perform as they intended. They have a solid reputation in Europe. Just some idiots at DC thought they knew more about the engine than the manufacturer. But what is new!
************************************************************************************************************
Newbie here taking delivery on a Liberty CRD this week but not a newbie to turbo diesels. I don't believe the idiots at DC have a choice regarding incorporating EGR valves and catalytic converters to comply with federal law and the VM diesel engine is no more castrated by DC than the diesel engine imported by VW which was also discontinued due to stricter federal regulations.

Owners however have a bit more latitude to modify their vehicles (for offroad purposes of course) and remove EGR valves that are quick to clog themselves and intake manifolds or remove catalytic converters and mufflers to improve performance and lower EGT's.

I too am considering an ECU tune however I would prefer to have a little more performance boost than just bringing the program up to European specs, whatever that means. Does anyone know of an ECU tuner that increases turbo boost within the operating limits of the turbocharger, deletes the EGR operation and CEL and remaps for a better flowing intake and exhaust?

Have any members that went down the InMotion Tuning road had a discussion with this tuner regarding some real performance tuning or were you just interested in bringing it up to the European specs? Also, I don't believe the European market uses an EGR valve, at least they don't for VW, don't know about VM. If thats the case, then tuning for European specs should mean deleting the EGR operation, not just turning it down 60%.

_________________
08 GC CRD Overland
Provent

05 Liberty CRD Limited
Rocketchip Level 1, Provent

03 Jetta TDI Wgn 5 spd
Rocketchip Level 5 with upgraded: turbo, DD clutch, fuel delivery, intake and exhaust systems. Deletes: EGR cooler, EGR, Cat.



If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you're reading it in English, thank a veteran.


Last edited by brew1 on Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:30 pm 
Offline
LOST Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:54 pm
Posts: 331
Location: Pinnacle, North-Carolina
Guys,

Great post. I have had the F37 done many months ago and the performance or lack thereof sucks :(

I am correct in understanding that what Inmotion does is reflash the ECU to pre-F37 specs?


This is what I am gleaning from this post?

Thanks

Tom

_________________
2005 Jeep Liberty CRD Limited
Build Date May '05
OME lift kit
Samco hoses
Weeks Stage 1
PMF EGR plug kit
ARP Stud
Cracked CAC repaired with epoxy filler


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:08 pm 
Offline
LOST Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:36 pm
Posts: 177
Location: Dallas, Texas
tomasnc wrote:
I am correct in understanding that what Inmotion does is reflash the ECU to pre-F37 specs?

The F37 flash effects two different ECUs from what I understand: the engine ECU and the transmission ECU. InMotion only can flash the engine ecu.. thereby getting more horsepower, torque and fuel economy. (or so they claim. I have not seen any dyno proof of any of this) So, you will possibly increase performance- but who knows how much more HP you would have if you had the old pre F37 transmission ecu installed. (The transmission ECU talks to the engine ECU and can affect performance)

_________________
'05 Liberty CRD
'05 Jaguar S-Type R


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], tjkj2002 and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group. Color scheme by ColorizeIt!
Logo by pixeldecals.com